What’s in a name?

What’s in a name? that which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet

William Shakespeare Romeo and Juliet

A name is but an arbitrary label?

Really?

I disagree, but only now I am faced with the daunting prospect of ‘labelling’ our baby for the rest of it’s life. I never knew this decision would be so difficult.

As I mentioned in my previous post, we don’t know the sex of the baby so we’ve had to make two lists of names in preparation. If it’s a girl we’re pretty much sorted, it’s just going to be a final decision between two first names having already decided that the middle name will be that of my Granny (this I’ve wanted since I was a little girl). Boys, however, is a totally different ball game!

I’ve decided on both names I want and I love them! They work with the surname and I think he’ll grow up with them being both fitting for child as well as adult. The trouble is my partner doesn’t agree. He knows someone on Twitter who’s son is called the same! I had no idea of this at the time and it hasn’t tarnished my opinion of the name (names can rarely be totally unique and this is the only person I’ve ‘known’ with it) but he can’t seem to get his head round it and I have to accept his opinion and respect it, this is his child too.

Now it’s back to the drawing board, which is difficult as I can’t seem to get the names I love out of my head.

We know that we want something different but without being too left field. I’ve never been one for following the pack and have problems accepting ‘ordinary and popular’ names as even being a possibility. I’m not, unlike a lot of people today, into the old fashioned names. I care for the elderly and when I hear those names I visualise clients and don’t see the name fitting a child. My poor partner must feel like he’s banging his head against a brick wall at times, every name he reads out of ‘The Book’ (of Doom) I instantly dismiss with an astounded “Really?” or “You have to be joking?”

It’s got to the point we rarely discuss it now.

I find myself checking the credits of everything I watch on TV to no avail, everything seems to be so dull. I google translate words that hold meaning into different languages to see what they sound like. I find myself cutting and editing different names together but only end up making myself laugh.

Time is running out. Today I am 37 weeks. Term!

Our beautiful baby could arrive at anytime and should it be a boy it’s looking like it’s going to be nameless indefinitely (I’ve even google translated ‘nameless’). I’m kinda hoping that, if it is a he, he’ll come out singing his name to us thus putting us out of our misery. Either that or he’ll arrive and the names I love will suit perfectly, my partner will see the agony I’ve just endured and he’ll agree (wishful thinking, I know).

Or, baby could amaze us both, be a girl and all of this angst will be for nothing!

So Mr Shakespeare, what’s in a name?
EVERYTHING!

Leave a Reply

