Weaning: Our First 10 Days

Our journey into uncharted territory has started.

On the 26th May 2014 we entered the realms of solid foods. I’m not going to lie, I was terrified.

As I mentioned in my previous post on Weaning I was confused by which approach to take, whether to go down the Baby Led Weaning (BLW) route from the start or follow my Annabel Karmel book and start totally with purées. I had decided, then, to do a sort of combination, you know, start with baby rice, then purées then add solids into the mix at a later date.
I think I over thought the whole thing. I ended up a complete mess.
I was angry that my BLW book didn’t have a more comprehensive format for me to follow and got totally confused at the whole affair. I was cross that D wouldn’t give me any input whatsoever except “I thought you were going to combine”. I was, this is true, but the more I thought about it the more I thought how ridiculous that was. We’d waited until the 6 month mark so Noah was all-round ready for solid foods so why was I even considering purées? But as soon as I had convinced myself I was going to BLW then I thought about purées again. I was quietly going insane.
Everyone I’ve spoken to have almost scoffed at me when I’ve expressed my fears over weaning all declaring what fun it was and that I was thinking too much about it. I think I kinda just wanted someone to tell me what to give him and when but that wasn’t going to happen I’m kind of all out at sea on this too.

Anyway after fretting and putting it off for too long we started, and this is how it went… kinda

Day 1: Carrot (steamed, batons & mashed)
I wasn’t having much fun. Not much fun at all. In fact I went into such a melt down that it took me an hour to prepare one sodding carrot!
I had decided to purée, then not, then purée, then not, then definitely to purée except puréeing half a carrot is not an easy task, in fact it’s totally impossible. I ended up getting the masher out then finally a fork to mush it up. The other half I had left steamed in batons and on preparing Noah decided I hadn’t steamed it enough. I mean how soft do they have to be for lords sake? We were finally ready to go nearly two hours after I started to get ready.
I needn’t have worried.
He didn’t eat a blooming thing.
I don’t know what I was expecting, probably that he’d pick up a carrot and happily, after a bit of initial trepidation, get the whole thing down. He didn’t, far from it. He did pick up the batons and put them in his mouth but then grimace, gag and drop it on the floor. So we tried the mush, no luck here either, he just pushed it out with his tongue and short of forcing it into his mouth, which is not something I ever plan on doing, we were on a non starter.
However, I have decided total BLW is the approach I’m taking.

20140605-194458-71098132.jpg

20140605-194458-71098857.jpg

Day 2: Carrot, Mange Tout, Sweet Potato, Broccoli (all steamed)
Again, nothing swallowed. In fact not a lot went into his mouth today except one carrot stick which was met with a grimace, a gag and lots of drool.

20140605-194627-71187843.jpg

Day 3: Sweet Red Pepper (grilled and skin removed)
Nothing swallowed but he did lick a strip once before launching it on the floor.
At this stage I realise Noah has developed a rather nasty cold and I wonder whether this is why he’s not showing much interest and I think I might put it on hold for a few days until he’s better.

20140605-194853-71333337.jpg

Day 4: Pear
I’m eating a pear and Noah is looking rather amorously at it. I offer it to him and he happily sucks away on it so decide I’ll continue.

Day 5: Carrot & Broccoli (steamed), Strawberry and Melon.
Nothing but a lot of squishing between fingers and throwing on floor.

Day 6: Porridge (a taster of my breakfast) and breadstick.
Again nothing swallowed. Lots of grimacing where the porridge was concerned. The breadstick was a little more successful, Noah happily chomped into it but continues to spit everything out after gagging on each morsel. I’ve decide there’s too much crap in breadsticks so am going to stick to toast from now on.

Day 7: Porridge with mushed banana.
Just lots of mess. He has decided he loves to throw his bowl and cup around with great delight. I’m actually still treading on missed porridge.

20140605-195026-71426228.jpg

Day 8: Sweet Potato (steamed in batons)
No interest, none at all just squishing them in his hands and smacking them.

Day 9: Strawberry, Melon, Mango (in batons)
I think we’re making progress. I didn’t want to give Noah fruit so early because I don’t want him to develop a sweet tooth before mastering vegetables but thought I better try, he might simply not like the other things I’m trying. He loved the mango after a while and sucked on it quite nicely, the strawberries just got mushed up and the melon was launched. I’ve learnt strawberries stain. Note to self: Buy more Vanish stain remover.

20140605-195247-71567231.jpg

Day 10: Broccoli & Carrot (steamed)
We have the most success today. As soon as I put the broccoli on his table he picks it up and shoves it in his mouth and sucks on the florets. Lots of hilarious grimacing ensued and when he chewed chunks off there was an awful lot of gagging until the pieces fell out of his mouth but I really think we’re making good progress.

20140605-195603-71763193.jpg

At each ‘meal’ I’ve given him a Tommee Tippee beaker with some water in it, mostly this has been launched on the floor but he has taken a few sips and swallowed it, though this has been on a choke or swallow basis.

20140605-195802-71882331.jpg

I’m looking forward to getting a dining table this weekend so he can sit in his Tripp Trapp at the table instead of in the Bumbo… I’m not entirely convinced it provides the best eating posture.

I have worried that he isn’t actually consuming anything and again have toyed with the idea of baby rice and purées but having spoken to a couple of other mothers who have said their BLW babies have taken a few weeks before they have swallowed anything I have decided to continue as I’ve been going. After all this isn’t about providing nutrition, it’s about exploring textures and flavours and baby rice doesn’t provide any of this.

BLW essentials:
A semi naked baby (and preferably mummy too)
Bibs… LOTS of bibs! (Thank you Katie)
Splash Mat
Vanish Stain Removal
Vanish Carpet Mousse
Wet wipes or flannel and water

BLW is a very messy affair, be warned!

So am I enjoying it now? Yes, I think I might be. Though I still have no idea what I’m doing it is lovely watching Noah making new discoveries.

Toast tomorrow….

Leave a comment