Green Earth Pan by Ozeri – A Review

I was recently given the opportunity to review the Textured series 20cm Green Earth Pan by Ozeri.

20140723-130705-47225373.jpg

Being a new mum and now (recently) cooking for my little boy I’m more aware and nervous about using my old, slightly battered non sticks as I know that the non stick is degraded and am well aware of the health risks surrounding this.

It’s a known fact that non sticks use a synthetic coating called PolyTetraFluoroEthylene (PTFE) and at high temperatures this degrades and emits fumes that have been documented to be lethal to small animals and birds, affecting their respiratory system and is also harmful to humans. This of course is information I have willingly, until now, chosen to ignore but with a baby my priorities are different. His safety, health and well being are my number one priority.

When this opportunity arose I jumped at the chance after discovering that the company’s products are free from PTFEs using a natural ceramic, called Greblon, as a coating instead which boasts non stick ‘perfection’. Because they don’t use these traditional non stick coatings the products are, therefore, made without the use of PerFluoroOctanoic Acid (PFOA) which is one of the worlds most ‘persistent pollutants of the environment’ and is linked to some cancers when ingested. This Eco friendly claim also got my attention. With an environmental background I do try my hardest to make choices in life that will conserve, rather than damage our environment to enable future generations to enjoy what we do now. Granted I don’t always make the right choices for, usually, economic reasons but I do try where I can and would rather pay a little extra for an environmentally aware product than not.

What they say:
The Green Earth Pan’s ceramic coating is 100% free of PTFE and PFOA. In addition to being completely eco-friendly and ultra-safe, the Green Earth Pan’s natural ceramic coating is far more durable and scratch-resistant than other non-stick surfaces. With better non-stick properties, the Green Earth Pan by Ozeri allows you to cook with as little as half the amount of oil normally used, and it makes cleaning a breeze. The Green Earth Pan by Ozeri is made of the highest quality anodized aluminum that allows for even cooking and fantastic browning without the risk of hot spots. It boasts a magnetized bottom for rapid heat transfer on induction stoves, and a heat resistant Bakelight handle. Your satisfaction is guaranteed.

My pan arrived a couple of weeks ago and the first thing I decided to review was it’s packaging. Packaging is a pet hate of mine. We use far too much oil based, non recyclable products to simply make an item more appealing to the consumer. It’s a disgrace and something even Eco friendly companies are guilty of.

Packaging
The pan’s packaging consisted of:
One recyclable cardboard sleeve which fitted snugly therefore not excessive.
One plastic bag
One rubber band
One easy to follow instruction leaflet on one piece of paper
One easy to peel off sticker

In the grand scheme of things not a bad effort despite the plastic bag which I’m sure is purely to protect the entire product during transportation and retail but I didn’t have to use scissors and this is always a bonus.

20140723-125404-46444440.jpg

20140723-125525-46525055.jpg

20140723-125700-46620802.jpg

20140723-125749-46669796.jpg

The Pan
It’s a beautiful looking pan in my opinion. It is a vibrant lime green which injects a nice bit of colour amongst my stainless steel pan rack. It’s got a nice weight to it feeling sturdy without being too heavy either (650g). The handle feels solidly joined to the pan, there’s no give at all there. The handle is

Cooking
Before first use they recommend you season the product with quarter of a teaspoon of oil, pretty standard practice. It certainly lives up to the claims that you need a lower heat and far less oil, this really surprised and amazed me. As for it’s non stick claims I whole heartedly agree with them, it is truly brilliant and best if all I have no fear of using a metal fish slice as it doesn’t scratch like traditional non sticks do.

Cleaning
What can I say, it’s amazingly easy to clean. Scrambled egg pretty much wiped off with kitchen roll except around the handle fixing screws which needed a little more attention. I can’t see this changing over the course of time as it seems more hard wearing than traditional non stick coatings. I’ve left it overnight before cleaning, without soaking, and have had no trouble cleaning it the following day. The other half has even cooked and cleaned it… That’s a test in itself!

Price
Current retail price for this product is £39.99 but Amazon currently have it at £23.99 with free UK delivery. Well worth the money, I’m hoping it’ll last me years instead of cheaper end non stick that get ruined in this house within a year

I’ve been using the product every day now for three weeks, using metal utensils and a wide variety of ingredients and it still looks brand spanking new.

20140723-130534-47134427.jpg

In three simple words, I love it! Trouble being I now want the whole range :/

**This pan was gifted to me for the purpose of this review.

Leave a Reply

