Ozeri 4x3motion Digital Pocket 3D Pedometer with Tri-Axis Technology – A Review

I was recently given the opportunity to review the 4×3 motion Digital Pedometer by Ozeri. Seeing as I seem to walk forEVER to get my LO asleep I was interested to see how far I’d walked and, more importantly, how many calories I was burning.

I haven’t had a pedometer since they were first put on the market. In those days you had to wear the device on your hip and it would notch any movement made on and count it as a step therefore giving you a less than accurate result on the whole and who didn’t shake the hell out of them to notch up more a few more miles?

I was intrigued by the claims that this pedometer gave and looked forward to testing it out.

What they say:

The world’s most advanced 3D pedometer. Unlike other pedometers that do not work accurately unless placed vertically, the 4x3motion Digital Pedometer utilizes the latest generation in Tri-Axis technology to provide superior accuracy in any position, whether up, down, flat, on its side, or at any angle. Moreover, the 4x3motion Digital Pedometer utilizes a Digital 3D Acceleration Sensor which is far more accurate than mechanical sensors used in other pedometers.

Compact, sleek and ultra slim, the 4x3motion Digital Pedometer fits is any pocket and is the ultimate personal trainer. Used by professional 100 mile ultra runners such as Evan Kimber, the 4x3motion Digital Pedometer records your steps, distance, average speed, calories burned, and time spent exercising, and displays your data on a new bright LCD with a night view backlight. The 4x3motion Digital Pedometer filters out vibrations and only begins counting after it detects a sequence of continuous steps for greater accuracy. The 4x3motion Digital Pedometer ships with a Lithium battery, a bonus strap and instruction manual. Your satisfaction is 100% guaranteed. (taken from their Amazon description)

My opinion:

On receiving the product it was neatly packaged, not over packaged at all with a simple plastic, moulded case that wasn’t too big for the item, a mini screwdriver to use on the battery compartment, a lanyard and a small paper instruction leaflet.

The product itself is really natty. I was given the black one which was sleek and very lightweight. It came with a black lanyard which could be fitted to enable you to wear it round your neck, this however wouldn’t thread onto my pedometer as the outer fabric on the leash just kept coming away exposing the inner core making it impossible to thread so I just put it in my pocket.

It has a really neat interface with only four buttons and it only took a couple of minutes to set up following the simple and easy to follow instructions and you can choose between metric or imperial when it comes to your data. The only thing I would say is that you have to input your stride length. I had to google this as I had no idea how to do this. Basically you put a mark on the floor and put the heel of one foot onto it then make a regular stride, then mark where your toe is on your front foot then simply measure the distance between and this is your ‘Step’. This needs to be fairly accurate so the device can calculate how far you’ve walked.

It also has a 7 day storage function so you can track your week’s activity.

I did find that on first using the pedometer it didn’t count any steps but then rushed through ten steps in one, this is normal apparently because it needs to detect a sequence of continuous steps and all in all, when I counted the device was pretty darn accurate.

I ran it alongside a GPS Walking app on my iPhone to check accuracy and the two were pretty close in distances though I appreciate my stride isn’t exactly the same length at all times. The time didn’t falter but the calories varied hugely, the pedometer giving the lower reading and this is the one I took on board, the app calories burnt were hugely exaggerated, in my opinion though I wish it was true!!

One really annoying thing about the device (in addition to the leash threading debacle) was that whenever I sat down with the pedometer in my back pocket, it reset itself, therefore losing all the data up to that point and having to go through the whole set up process again. It’s a shame I couldn’t get to use it on it’s lanyard to see how accurate it was in that position.

Would I buy it? If I was in the market for a pedometer I’d definitely trust this one, it’s accurate and good value for money with Amazon reducing the £39.99 RRP down to £15.95 (at the time of this review going to press). On the whole a good bit of kit and better to use than running your battery down on your smart phone by using an app.

Oh, and yes, you can still shake it to clock up the steps should you wish to do so, you just have to do it in a more rhythmic manner.

**This product was gifted to me for the purpose of this review.

Leave a Reply

