Ozeri WeightMaster II – A Review

I’ve been given the wonderful opportunity to try out and review the brand new to the U.K. market, Ozeri WeightMaster II 200kg/440IbDigital Bathroom Scales which feature BMI and Weight Change Detection.

In light of my battle against the bulge I was thrilled when this opportunity came up, convinced that my ancient bathroom scales were the cause of my misery. They weren’t, of course, but accurate they were not. Of course I will miss those good days when they weren’t accurate and weighed light.

I’ve been using these scales for a week now and from the outset I blooming loved them. What a fantastic bit of kit! They’re fairly light and slim making storage easy and I find them attractive to look at.

  

Packaging

Once again, as with all the Ozeri products I’ve had the pleasure of reviewing, the packaging of the product isn’t excessive at all. The scales come in a plastic bag, 2x recyclable cardboard protective strips, an instruction book (in all languages known to man) all contained in a recyclable cardboard box. The less things that go in my bin the happier I am, as is the environment.

  

  

  

What They Say

  • BMI with Weight Differential Detection — Instantly displays your BMI (Body Mass Index), current weight, and your net weight change since your last weigh-in. It also calculates your net weight change from the average of your last 3, 7 and 30 weigh-ins to help provide a comprehensive understanding of your weight.
  • Accurate Weight Tracking with 30 Day Memory — By measuring your weight once a day, the Ozeri WeightMaster II empowers you to instantly see how your current weight changes from the previous day (e.g. -0.3 kg), the average of the last 3 days (e.g. -0.8 kg), the previous week (e.g. -1.1 kg), and the previous 30 days (e.g. -2.4 kg), all displayed on an intelligent LCD with color alert technology.
  • Smart LCD with Color Alert Technology — For users who want to focus on their weight trend instead of the actual numbers, this scale displays your weight change in color, with a GREEN illumination for weight loss and RED for weight gain, providing a visual form of intuitive feedback so you can see if your weight is trending up or down day to day, over the last 3, 7, and 30 days.
  • Immediate and Flawless Results — Performs and displays all calculations on the scale’s LCD without complicated synching or data connection failures common to more expensive wireless and Bluetooth alternatives
  • Robust Construction, Industry-leading Capacity and Built-in Intelligence — Weighs up to 200 kg with auto-recognition technology for 8 unique users at home, at the office, or at the gym. Automatically calibrates with StepOn technology and auto-powers off. Features a slip-resistant grooved ABS exterior reinforced with a tempered glass interior, and non-slip scratch-resistant feet that won’t damage flooring. Treated with Microban® antimicrobial product protection that disrupts the growth of stain and odor-causing bacteria and helps maintain surface cleanliness


Getting Started

Setting up the scales couldn’t be easier, to the point I didn’t even need to open the manual other than for explanation of codes.

To change between Kg and Ibs hit the switch on the underside of the unit. I stumbled across this as no hint was given in the manual.

1. Press the SET button

2. Use arrow keys to scroll through the programme number (P1-P8) and select appropriate programme number.

3. Press the SET button

4. Set your height by using directional arrows

5. Press the SET button

6. Stand on scales

Simples.

What the scales do:

The scales have Step On Technology meaning, well just that… Step on them to start. They power off after a short period of time to conserve battery life so no need to turn them off.

Once you’ve set up the scales and inputted your personal programme information the scales automatically recognise who you are, so no need to select your individual programme before weighing.

Wait until the scales stop flashing which means your current weight is locked in and then watch to see whether you’ve gained, lost or maintained.

The scales display your current weight and BMI then will scroll through a series of coded averages:

L1 – Net weight change since last weigh in.

L3 – Net weight change of last 3 weigh ins.

L7 – Net weight change of last 7 weigh ins.

L30 – Net weight change of last 30 weigh ins.

The scales Colour Alert Technology will also give you a visual indicator of whether you have lost, gained or maintained. If the display turns Red, you’ve gained. If it turns Green, you’ve lost. If it remains Blue, you’ve maintained. I personally find this the best indicator for me, having spent a lot of my life suffering with eating disorders I find that I can’t afford to start obsessing about numbers so I’m just happy when the display shows Green.

The scales are really robust, as my toddler has kindly tested by launching them across the kitchen floor on a number of occasions, and the fact they’re treated with Microban is an added bonus.

My Opinion

On the whole I love these scales, I like the way they look and what they do, they are simply the best scales I’ve ever had. 

Unfortunately, like every other scale on the market I’ve found you have to use them on a hard, flat surface. Not only this but I am having to use them in exactly the same place on the floor. I’ve found that if moved to a different location (by only a couple of inches) I can go from losing 2 oz to gaining 3. Whether we have a particularly uneven floor is unknown, I just make sure I use them in the same place.

They certainly get a great big thumbs up from me.

**This product was gifted to me for the purpose of this review.

Leave a Reply

