Goodbye

Today we said goodbye to you for the last time Daddy. It broke our hearts. You would have been so proud of the turn out and I hope you could see how many people came to see you on your way, pay their respects and celebrate your life.

I was so proud to hear how many people you had touched, how many people admired you, how many people respected you. I loved hearing their anecdotes of you stemming right back to your Chellaston days and through your RAF days, Nigerian days and, more latterly, your Rotary days.

Simon did you proud by reading that poem. I’m not sure how he held it together, but he just about managed it. Andrea was amazingly strong and a comfort to us.

Thank you for mentioning mum in your thanks and thank you for your words about us. I hope we continue to make you, and mum proud of us. If I am a mere fraction of the people you both were then I shall be happy.

I hope you’re having a good ‘catch up’ with mum up there, I miss you both so very much and will do for as long as I live.

So goodbye Daddy, the world has lost one of it’s true gentlemen and I have lost my idol.

  

One thought on “Goodbye

  1. Pingback: 21 Month Old | boardbaby

Leave a Reply

