Potty Training

When Noah was 18 months old we bought him a potty. I never intended to start training him at this age, more to have it around the place so he got used to it. Alongside this purchase, and on the recommendation of a friend, we bought a book called Pirate Pete’s Potty.

Since this time we’ve read the book A LOT (Noah’s choice, I think it’s the cheering button that’s the main draw) and talked about what the potty is there for. This is pretty much all I’ve done except when recognising a poo is imminent and putting him on the potty myself. I would describe this more of ‘catching’ rather than ‘using’. 

I’ve read a lot of information on potty training and spoken to a lot of mums who are at various stages of training and they all pretty much say the same, no point trying until they speak. This having been determined I never intended to start the process until Noah had words for ‘pee’ and ‘poo’ and until that time we would continue talking about the potty and what it was for and continue with nappies and ‘catching’.

At home Noah is pretty much always nappy-free (due to hellish nappy changes and heat rashes) and thus we’ve had our fair share of ‘accidents’ on the carpet, met with an ‘uh oh’ and a giggle from our it the boy.

A couple of weeks ago (on the 10th September 2015) I was in the kitchen when I heard Noah cheering and clapping to himself. When I peeked around the corner he pointed at the potty. On investigation I discovered he had used it! I suitably praised him and we went through the motions of emptying, washing hands and replacing potty and that’s where I thought it would end… A simple one off… A fluke. How wrong I was!

Since that day he has had one accident. He appears to have self potty-trained…. Result!

But, what do I do now?

I still put him in nappies when we’re out and about because he can’t (won’t) tell me when he needs to go. He will pull at himself when he needs a wee, but not all the time, and these directions can be easily missed, or misconstrued when in a social setting.

I have bought a Potette but have still to have a successful outcome from it due to the time taken between seeing a cue, setting up said Potette and removing nappy. I just don’t know what the next step should be. I don’t want him to take a step back but in the same vein I don’t want to put him off by having lots of accidents outside the house due to my missing his cues.

What do I do? 

What did you do? 

Has anyone got experience potty training a non-talker?

Help please 😉 

5 thoughts on “Potty Training

  1. Wow what a clever little boy! My two year old daughter is nowhere near potty training yet so unfortunately I can’t give you advice or speak from experience but good luck! X

  2. Bless him! My daughter was 3 so full of words which were mostly “no mummy I don’t need a wee” shortly before wetting herself. I would take some trips to the park. The weathers lovely. Set up the potty by a tree and put him in big boy pants and joggers. Take lots of clothes. It doesn’t matter if he wets himself just change him but give lots of praise if he uses the potty. Start outside, conquer that and you’ll get more used to the signs! Xx

  3. Pingback: 22 Months Old | boardbaby

Leave a Reply

